Dirty River Boys

Band Members: Nino Cooper, Marco Gutierrez, Colton James, Trinidad Leal
Releases: Mesa Starlight (2018), Dirty River Boys (2014), Science of Flight (2012), Train Station (EP, 2011), Long Cold Fall (EP, 2010)
Years at MusicFest: 10

El Paso, home of the “dirty river” known as the Rio Grande, is a place of schemers and strivers. Perhaps the quintessential American border town, it was against this backdrop that the boys came of age, playing music and hearing wild stories of lawlessness from just a few miles away. Fast forward a decade or so and Nino Cooper, armed with an acoustic guitar and armload of songs, began playing anywhere that would have him. Colton James and Marco Gutierrez soon rounded out the trio. Young, hungry and driven, the band buckled up for long van rides and began venturing to Austin, San Antonio, Tulsa and points beyond. Meanwhile, their hard-driving roots-acoustic sound was battle tested over an endless string of shows and hundreds of broken cajón heads. Along the way, The Dirty River Boys notched a number of milestones, such as opening for Willie Nelson and selling out the famed Gruene Hall. The band plays upwards of 200 dates a year, giving heartfelt, unrestrained performances, and winning over a loyal audience show-by-show. Their latest album, Mesa Starlight, is sure to keep you on the edge of your seat all the way to Steamboat.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram