Michael Hearne & Shake Russell

Releases: Only As Strong As Your Dreams (2016, duo)

Hearne: Red River Dreams (2016), 25 Years Live (2012, with SxSW), Life in America (2011), The High Road to Taos (2007), Me and My Guitar (2004), Taos Christmas Eve (2003), Ear to the Ground: Live on Radio (2003, with SxSW), Live at the Old Blinking Light (2002), Sight & Sound (2001), Honky Tonk Road (1995, with SxSW), Listen to the West (1992, with SxSW)

Russell: Little Bright Band of Light (2016), What This Heart Holds (2009), Between Your Heart and Mine: Love Songs (2008), Love Is Why (2006), Dreaming the Mystery (2000), Let Love Be True (1998), Love’s Bright Campaign (1998, with Dana Cooper), Deep In the West (1996), The Thrill of Love (1993, with Dana Cooper and Jack Saunders), Songs on the Radio (1978, with Dana Cooper)

Years at MusicFest: MusicFest 2018 Debut Artist

Michael Hearne & Shake Russell have spent the past three decades packing dance halls and listening rooms across Texas, the southwest and beyond. Most of this was done separately however, as the duo only began performing together a few years ago. A native Dallas Texan, Michael Hearne has had a phenomenal career not only as a solo act and with his band South by Southwest, but as a key member of Michael Martin Murphey’s band in the 1980’s. Hearne began his career at a young age, performing both solo and with friends across the Southwest, calling Taos, New Mexico home for many years. Now living near Austin, Hearne is one of the most respected pickers around and has penned songs for artists such as Jerry Jeff Walker, Gary P. Nunn and Johnny Rodriguez. Missouri-born Shake Russell has been a fixture of the singer-songwriter movement since the 1970s as well. At that time, he relocated to Austin, Texas and became known for his unique brand of Americana style folk-rock. Russell is a two-time recipient of the BMI “Million Air” award for Clint Black’s recordings of “Put Yourself in My Shoes” and “One More Payment,” both of which he co-wrote with Black, and a four-time recipient of the BMI Writer’s Award. His songs have been covered by Waylon Jennings (“Deep in the West”) and Ricky Skaggs (“You’ve Got a Lover”) among many others. Don’t miss the MusicFest debut of these two incredible musicians, they are sure to have some stories to tell!

Michael Hearne: Website | Facebook
Shake Russell: Website | Facebook